跳至内容 跳转到翻译菜单

最后修改12 月 5, 2023

政策编号 3401 健康

目的

普罗沃市教育局认识到健康的身体和高效的思维之间的联系。为了更加关注学生的健康和体能水平,教育局制定了本健康政策。该政策包含支持这一目标的三个部分:营养、自动售货机和体育活动。这些政策中包含的建议确保学区符合州和联邦的要求,并指导我们在这三个领域的工作。该政策是一项动态政策;学区健康委员会打算每年召开一次会议,审查各项建议,评估实施进度,并根据教育委员会的批准更新/修改该政策。

评估

应指定一名或多名地方教育局或学校官员确保每所参与学校遵守本健康政策。审查和更新/修改本 "健康政策 "及其可衡量目标的工作文件,包括参与该过程的人员(如评估文件、 会议记录、议程,包括出席/参与人员等),应保留三年,加上当年。应至少每三年完成一次正式的三年期评估,以衡量 a) 学校在多大程度上遵守了本政策的实施;b) 本健康政策与当地学校健康政策/最佳实践范本的比较程度;以及 c) 在实现本健康政策目标方面所取得的进展(例如,对所取得进展的描述等),评估结果应向公众公布。应根据三年一次的评估结果对本健康政策进行适当的更新/修改。

普罗沃市教育局营养政策指南

根据犹他州核心健康课程,应向 3 至 12 年级的学生传授相关知识:

  1. 营养素类别、各种营养素的功能、富含这些营养素的食物以及缺乏症状; 
  2. 功能失调饮食和时尚饮食的危害;
  3. 媒体对食物选择的影响;
  4. 食物摄入与活动(热量摄入与消耗)之间的关系;
  5. 个人饮食习惯与均衡饮食的比较; 
  6. 食物制作对食物营养成分的影响;以及 
  7. 营养标签。

应向学生讲授碳酸饮料对健康的危害,特别是高溶解糖分、碳酸化、人工甜味剂和咖啡因的有害影响。

所有学校膳食均应符合食品营养联邦法律法规。

所有出售的食品: 

  • 学校膳食计划以外的膳食(如联邦报销膳食);
  • 在校园内;以及 
  • 在正式上课期间的任何时间(如自动售货机、学校商店、自选销售等)。

应符合《全国学校午餐计划》(National School Lunch Program)(7 CFR 210)、《全国学校早餐计划》(National School Breakfast Program)(7 CFR 220)和《学校销售的所有食品的营养标准最终规则》(Nutrition Standards for All Foods Sold in School Final Rule)(7 CFR 210.11)(也称为 "校园智能小吃")规定的最低要求。请参考美国农业部 FNS 最终规则。校内智能零食标准应建立在学校膳食计划的健康进步之上,鼓励儿童在校期间选择更健康的零食,为他们提供学习和成长所需的营养。

小学不得出售牛奶以外的自选食品。中学不得将竞争性食品(联邦可报销膳食以外的所有食品)作为自选食品出售,如果这些食品不符合 "校园智能小吃 "最低标准的话。学校出售的所有自选食品都是严格按照联邦学校膳食计划制作的食品,应符合规定的营养指南和最低标准。

不符合标准的常见物品有

  • 碳酸饮料和/或风味饮料;
  • 口香糖 
  • 水冰和/或冰棍;以及
  • 某些糖果(如糖衣爆米花、软糖、硬糖、果冻和口香糖、甘草、棉花糖、旋转糖等)。

请参考 "更健康一代联盟",并使用 "联盟智能零食产品计算器 "来消除营养指南中的猜测。

每所学校校园内在校期间向学生出售的所有食品和饮料的标准和营养指南(7 CFR 210.30)只允许在校期间在校园内销售符合(7 CFR 210.11)营养标准的食品和饮料。营销活动应反映 "校园智能小吃 "标准。根据美国卫生与公众服务部、食品与药品管理局(食品标签;自动售货机中食品的卡路里标签)公布的最终规则,自2018年7月26日起,自动售货机运营商应向消费者提供清晰一致的营养信息,使他们在购买自动售货机中的商品时能够做出明智健康的饮食选择。自动售货机经营者应披露其机器所售食品和饮料的热量信息。美国食品及药物管理局的这一规定要求热量声明必须清晰、可见,并置于食品或选择按钮附近的标志(如小标牌、贴纸或海报)的显著位置。请参考 FDA 最终规定。

支持选择健康食品或非食品物品(如书籍、铅笔、贴纸、小饰品等)作为奖励。碳酸饮料和不符合最低标准的食品不得用作课堂奖励。

不符合最低标准的食品不得在学校商店出售。提供的所有零食必须符合 "校园智能零食 "标准。校长或其指定人员应每年与学校商店的负责人会面,以监督本规定的遵守情况,并就改善学校 商店所售食品的营养成分提出建议。

不符合最低标准的食品不得在上课时间作为现场筹款食品出售。经适当批准,每所学校每学年可申请三次筹款活动豁免。CTE 课程可根据州要求申请额外豁免。

每三年一次的 "学校营养行政审查"(AR)将对 "校园智能小吃 "规定进行监督。所有在校期间出售给学生的食品都将接受审查。如发现不合规情况,将提供技术援助,并要求采取纠正措施。在学校膳食计划(学校)之外销售产品的个人应负责任何可能的财务评估(例如,由学校记入日记账,将从其与 "校园智能零食 "直接相关的索赔中扣除的金额记入儿童营养计划等)。

我们鼓励家长为学生的生日、庆祝活动或聚会提供健康食品或非食品类物品。

根据《犹他州食品法》(3-201.11),学校不得供应或出售自制或家庭包装食品。在学校膳食计划之外,所有在学校供应或出售的食品都必须由商业机构制备和包装。校长负责执行此规定。请参考《食品法典》第 3-201.11 条。学校应每年向家长/监护人告知本规定。

我们鼓励学校向家长/监护人宣传健康与学习成绩之间的关系。有关健康与学业的更多信息,请参考美国农业部团队营养健康膳食资源系统。与家长会同时举行的健康展销会可能有助于实现这一目标。

为了促进健康和尽量减少浪费,我们鼓励学校为学生提供各种食物选择,教育学生做出最佳选择,并鼓励学生吃自己拿的东西。

学区应每年向教师讲解学区的健康政策、儿童健康问题以及在课程中实施健康教育的方 法。

教育委员会批准

2013 年 9 月 10 日

修订:2016 年 7 月

教育委员会批准

2014 年 6 月 10 日 2015 年 8 月 11 日 2016 年 8 月 9 日

程序

政策 3401 P1 健康:自动售货机指南

政策 3401 P2 健康:体育活动指南

政策 3401 P3 健康:空气质量和户外活动

政策 3401 P4 健康:课间休息和恶劣天气

zh_TW繁體中文

Skip To Content Skip to Translation Menu

Last modified: December 5, 2023

Policy No. 3401 Wellness

Purpose

The Provo City School District recognizes the link between healthy bodies and productive minds. To increase the focus on the health and fitness levels of our students the Board establishes this Wellness Policy. The policy contains three parts that support this goal: Nutrition, Vending Machines, and Physical Activity. The recommendations contained in these policies assure that the District is in compliance with State and Federal requirements and direct our efforts in those three areas. The policy is meant to be a dynamic one; the District Wellness Committee intends to meet each year to review recommendations, assess progress of implementation, and to update/modify this policy as approved by the Board of Education.

Evaluation

One or more LEA or school officials shall be designated to ensure that each participating school is in compliance with this Wellness Policy. Documentation of efforts to review and update/modify this Wellness Policy and its measurable goals, including who was involved in the process (e.g., evaluation documents, meeting minutes, agenda, including who attended/participated, etc.) shall be retained for three years, plus the current year. A formal triennial assessment to measure a) the extent to which schools are in compliance with the implementation of this policy; b) the extent to which this Wellness Policy compares to model local school wellness policies/best practice; and c) the progress made in attaining the goals of this Wellness Policy (e.g., a description of what progress has been made, etc.) shall be completed at least once every three years, and the assessment results shall be made available to the public. Appropriate updates/modifications to this Wellness Policy, based on the triennial assessment shall be made.

Provo City School District Nutrition Policy Guidelines

In accordance with the Utah State Core Health curriculum, students in grades 3-12 shall be taught:

  1. Nutrient groups, functions of the various nutrients, foods rich in these nutrients, and deficiency symptoms; 
  2. The dangers of dysfunctional eating and fad diets;
  3. The influence of the media on food choices;
  4. The relationship between food intake and activity (caloric intake and expenditure);
  5. Comparison of personal eating habits with a balanced diet; 
  6. Impact of food preparation on nutritional content of food; and 
  7. Nutritional labeling.

Students shall be taught the health risks associated with carbonated beverages, specifically, the detrimental effects of high dissolved sugar content, carbonation, artificial sweeteners, and caffeine.

All school meals shall meet food nutrition federal laws and regulations.

All foods sold: 

  • outside of the school meal programs (e.g. federal reimbursable meal);
  • on the school campus; and 
  • at any time during the official school day (e.g., vending machines, school stores, a la carte sales, etc.)

shall meet the minimum requirements established by the National School Lunch Program (7 CFR 210), National School Breakfast Program (7 CFR 220), and the Nutrition Standards for All Foods Sold in School Final Rule (7 CFR 210.11), also known as Smart Snacks in School. Please reference USDA FNS Final Rule. Smart Snacks in School standards shall build on the healthy advancements of the school meal programs, and encourage children to make healthier snack choices during the school day that provide them with the nutrition they need to learn and grow.

Elementary schools may not sell a la carte items except milk. Secondary schools may not sell competitive foods (all foods outside of the federal reimbursable meal) as a la carte items if they do not meet the minimum Smart Snacks in School standards. All a la carte items sold in schools are foods strictly prepared by the federal school meal programs and shall meet the required nutritional guidelines and minimum standard.

Common items that do not fit the standard are:

  • carbonated and/or flavored beverages;
  • chewing gum; 
  • water ices and/or popsicles; and
  • certain candies (e.g., candy coated popcorn, fondant, hard candy, jellies and gums, licorice, marshmallow candies, spun candy, etc.)

Please reference Alliance for a Healthier Generation and take the guesswork out of nutrition guidelines with the Alliance Product Calculator for Smart Snacks.

Standards and nutrition guidelines for all foods and beverages sold to students during the school day (7 CFR 210.30) on each school campus allow marketing on the school campus during the school day of only those foods and beverages that meet the nutrition standards under (7 CFR 210.11). Marketing should reflect the Smart Snacks in School standards. In accordance with U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration (Food Labeling; Calorie Labeling of Articles of Food in Vending Machines) published final rule, as of July 26, 2018, vending machine operators shall provide consumers with clear and consistent nutrition information, allowing them to make informed and healthy dietary choices when purchasing items from vending machines. Vending machine operators shall disclose caloric information for foods and beverages sold from their machines. This FDA regulation requires that caloric declarations be clear, visible, and prominently placed on a sign (e.g., small placard, sticker, or poster) near the food item or selection button. Please reference FDA Final Rule.

Healthy food choices or non-food items (e.g., books, pencils, stickers, trinkets, etc.) are supported as reward options. Carbonated beverages and foods that do not fit the minimum standard may not be used as classroom rewards.

Foods that do not fit the minimum standard may not be sold in school stores. All food snack choices offered must be Smart Snacks in School compliant. The principal or designee shall meet yearly with directors of school stores to monitor compliance with this regulation and to offer suggestions for improving the nutritional content of foods sold in school stores.

Foods that do not fit the minimum standard may not be sold for on-site fundraisers during school hours. Three fundraiser exemption requests per school, per school year, shall be allowed with appropriate approval. CTE programs may request additional exemptions as per state requirement.

Monitoring of the Smart Snacks in School regulations shall occur during the School Nutrition Administrative Review (AR) once every three years. All foods sold to students on the school campus during the school day will be reviewed. If non-compliance is found, technical assistance will be provided, and corrective action shall be required. Those individuals selling products outside of the school meal programs (school) shall be responsible for any possible fiscal action assessed (e.g., journal entry from the school to credit the Child Nutrition Program for the amount deducted from their claim directly associated with Smart Snacks in School, etc.) School officials shall submit corrective action as required per the audit through the Child Nutrition Program.

Parents are encouraged to provide healthy food options or non-food items to students for birthdays, celebrations, or parties.

In accordance with Utah County Food Code (3-201.11 Compliance with Food Law), homemade or home packaged foods may not be served or sold at school. All foods served or sold at school outside of the school meal programs must be commercially prepared and packaged. Principals are responsible for enforcing this regulation. Please reference Food Code 3-201.11. Schools shall inform parent(s)/guardian(s) of this regulation yearly.

Schools are encouraged to educate parent(s)/guardian(s) about the link between health and academic achievement. Please reference USDA Team Nutrition Healthy Meals Resource System for more information on health and academics. Health fairs, held in conjunction with parentteacher conferences, may help achieve this goal.

In order to promote health and minimize waste, schools are encouraged to provide students with a variety of food choices, to educate students about the best choices to make, and to encourage students to eat what they take.

The District shall instruct teachers yearly on the district’s wellness policies, child health issues, and ways to implement health instruction in the curriculum.

Approved by Board of Education

September 10, 2013

Revised: July 2016

Approved by Board of Education

June 10, 2014 August 11, 2015 August 9, 2016

Procedures

Policy 3401 P1 Wellness: Vending Machine Guidelines

Policy 3401 P2 Wellness: Physical Activity Guidelines

Policy 3401 P3 Wellness: Air Quality and Outdoor Activities

Policy 3401 P4 Wellness: Recess and Inclement Weather

en_USEnglish