跳过导航

普罗沃市教育局的教师和专家是我们的创新者。他们是创新者、陪伴者和看护者;他们是促进我们社区学习的砖瓦。普罗沃市学区基金会希望表彰并支持他们为使我们的学校变得更美好而做出的努力。

每年,基金会都会从众多值得资助的学区教师中挑选几位发放小额资助。要获得补助金,教师必须提交一份两页纸的申请,详细说明他们对教室或学校创新项目的构想。收到完整的申请后,普罗沃学区基金会遴选委员会将选出当年的迷你补助金获得者。

这个过程并不是对教师的要求,但每年都有许多教师为学生付出额外的努力。  

今年,我们采访了几位获得过小额赠款的教师,向他们了解课堂的需求、小额赠款产品、小额赠款对课堂的影响,最后,我们还向新教师和有困难的教师提出了如何在课堂上进行差异化教学和扩展学习的建议。

我们首先采访了春溪小学的教学支柱和典范杰西卡-肯普特(Jessica Kempter),她谈到了她的迷你补助金,她用这笔钱为教室图书馆的西班牙语新栏目购买了书籍。下面请阅读她的访谈。

问:那么,请告诉我们你们教室的需求以及你们通过小额赠款获得了什么。

答:我们学校有很多新移民家庭。比如,我有一个女孩是从委内瑞拉直接搬来的。我不会说流利的西班牙语,而她也不会说流利的英语,因此,除了谷歌翻译之外,很难教她们流利地使用两种语言。我有一个英语图书室,但缺少支持他们学习的西班牙语书籍。这就是我申请资助购买西班牙语书籍的原因。我已经为我的教室建立了一个双语和西班牙语书籍区。

问:有什么书是你特别想收到的吗? 

答:我用这笔资金购买了双语或西班牙语书籍。我还拥有许多我选择的英文书籍,这样它们就可以用两种语言自给自足了。我一直在跟踪我的西班牙语学生喜欢什么书,主要是图画小说,所以我也买了很多这样的书。但我买的种类很丰富。

问:你的学生有什么反应?你看到自己的课堂有什么变化吗?

答:所以,我刚把它们介绍给我的学生。我有很多双语学生,大约有 10 个学生掌握某种形式的双语。他们非常兴奋。有一个男孩在我给他们看新的西班牙语部分时缺席了,所以当他去我的图书馆时,他转过身来对我说,"你看,我的图书馆里有新的西班牙语部分。他们看到自己有了一个新的类别,非常兴奋,这很温馨。我注意到,我最新的西班牙语学习者都很喜欢他们。这真是太棒了。

问:大多数教师使用 "小赠款 "进行分层教学或扩展学习。您是一位经验丰富的教师,在为英语语言学习者和多语种学生进行差异化教学方面成绩斐然。对于在课堂上努力进行差异化教学的新教师,您有什么建议吗?

答:当然可以。帮助我迈出第一步的资源来自学校的鼓励。春溪小学推崇一种名为 "Deep L "的网络工具,它比谷歌翻译更准确。我仍然在使用谷歌翻译,因为你可以拍照和翻译工作表,但 "Deep L "能更好地管理学术语言。这是一个很好的第一资源。 

(Deep L 非常适合随堂指导和课上使用。包括坎普特在内的许多教师都使用带有 Deep L 工具的 iPad,在指定的桌子上直接翻译,并对需要帮助的学生进行检查指导。如果您有兴趣了解更多信息,我们在之前的一篇文章中介绍过她教授的一堂需要差异化的课)。

我自己也在学习西班牙语,即使是很小的事情也能与学生建立联系。让他们看到你在努力,有助于建立一个安全的空间。它为教师和学生提供了一个平等的平台;你们走到一起,因为你们都在努力。即使是早上的一句 "Buenos dias",也会产生不同的效果。

Spencer Tuinei
  • 通讯专家
  • 斯宾塞-图伊内
0 Shares
zh_TW繁體中文

skip navigation

The teachers and specialists in Provo City School District are our innovators. They are innovators, companions, and caretakers; they are the brick-and-mortar that fosters learning in our community. The Provo City School District Foundation wants to recognize and support their efforts to make our schools a better place.

Each year, the Foundation awards mini-grants to a few of the many deserving district teachers. To receive the grant, teachers must submit a two-page application detailing their concept for an innovative project to their classroom or school. After receiving the completed application, the Provo School District Foundation Selection Committee picks the mini-grant recipients for the year.

It’s a process that isn’t required of teachers, but each year, many go the extra mile for their students.  

This year, we’re speaking to a few teachers who have received mini-grants to ask them about their classroom’s perceived need, the mini-grant product, the classroom impact of their mini-grant, and lastly, advice for new and struggling teachers on how they can differentiate and extend learning in their classrooms.

We first spoke with Jessica Kempter, pillar and paragon of instruction at Spring Creek Elementary, about her mini-grant, which she used to purchase books for a new Spanish section in her classroom library. Read her interview below.

Q: So, tell us about the perceived need in your classroom and what you received through your mini-grant.

A: Our school sees a lot of families who are brand new to the country. I have a girl who moved here straight from Venezuela, for example. I don’t speak fluent Spanish, and she doesn’t speak fluid English, so, other than Google Translate, it’s tough to inspire fluency in both languages. I have a library of English books but lack Spanish books to support their learning. That’s why I submitted my grant for books written in Spanish. I’ve built a section of bilingual and Spanish books for my classroom.

Q: Were there any books you aimed to receive specifically? 

A: I used the funds to purchase either bilingual or Spanish books. I also own many of the books I chose in English so that they can support themselves in both languages. I’ve kept track of what books my Spanish Speakers like—primarily graphic novels—so I got a lot of those, too. But I bought a good variety.

Q: How did your students react? Have you seen any changes in your classroom?

A: So, I just introduced them to my students. I’ve got a lot of bilingual students—about ten that are bilingual in some form—and I’ve seen those kids already checking them out. They were very excited. I had one boy who was absent the day I showed them the new Spanish section, so when he went to my library, he turned to me and gasped. They were so excited to see they had a new category, and that was sweet. I’ve noticed that my newest Spanish Speakers gravitate to them. It’s been great.

Q: Most teachers use the Mini-Grants to either differentiate or extend learning. You are an experienced teacher with a track record for differentiating for English Language Learners and multilingual students. Do you have any advice for new teachers struggling to differentiate in their classrooms?

A: Absolutely. One resource that helped me take the first steps came from my school’s encouragement. Spring Creek Elementary pushes a web tool called “Deep L,” which is more accurate than Google Translate. I still use Google Translate because you can take photos and translate worksheets, but Deep L manages academic language better. It’s a great first resource. 

(Deep L is great for on-board instructions and in-class use. Many teachers, Kempter included, use an iPad with the Deep L tool to translate directly at a designated table and check in with students who need help with instruction. We’ve written about a lesson she taught requiring differentiation in a previous article if you’re interested in learning more.)

I’ve also worked on my own Spanish, and even something small creates a connection to your students. Letting them see that you’re trying helps build a safe space. It levels the ground for teacher and student; you come together because you’re both trying. Even a “Buenos dias” in the morning makes a difference.

Spencer Tuinei
  • Communication Specialist
  • Spencer Tuinei
0 Shares

Besides Black History Month, February is a time in our district to celebrate Career and Technical...

en_USEnglish