跳过导航

学习会

董事会手册培训:1:15

Rebecca Nielsen 校长回顾了《董事会手册》中的 "信息申请 "部分。 她提醒大家注意整理信息的学区工作人员的工作量。

施工更新:4:00

业务主管德里克-安德森介绍情况。

  • Timpview 
    • 12 月 4 日在新校区开始上课的计划有所改变。 本周学校仍将举行三次提前放假(11/29、11/30、12/1),以便教职员工开始搬入新教学楼。 学生将于 12 月 11 日搬入新教学楼上课。 这样一来,各项工作就可以收尾了,特别是电梯的检查工作,同时也为教职工布置教室留出了更多的时间。12 月 4 日至 8 日这一周,教师将暂缓在旧教室上课。 12 月 11 日将举行公众开放日。

审计报告:7:13

业务主管德里克-安德森介绍情况。

会计师报告了审计情况。 以下是审计结果

  • 独立审计员的意见指出,他们已对财务报表进行了审计,并指出财务报表公允地反映了该财政年度的情况。他们提出,该地区获得了 "无保留 "或 "干净 "的意见。
  • 他们发现了一个风险因素:
    • 风险因素--薪资环境
      • 有人指出,工资单中有许多核对表。 其中一部分是漏打报告。 处理漏打报告的政策不是很明确。 目前的做法是,让员工的直接主管了解漏打报告,并要求其帮助完成打卡报告。 薪资部门往往得不到主管的必要回应,只能自己结清打卡报告。 这种做法并不可取。审计员建议调出未关闭的打卡报告,推迟付款,直到员工的主管处理完漏掉的打卡。
  • 总体内部控制--软件控制以及谁有权做什么。 
    • 需要有更好的控制措施。如果缺乏这些控制,就会利用员工进行欺诈。 审计员建议财务部门参与所有可能涉及财务进出的项目。 这一点今年被确定为只需要口头评论。审计人员将在明年的审计中继续跟进;如果没有任何变化,可能会将其列入正式的书面审计结果中。
  • 单一审计报告: 
    • 没有书面结论--去年的书面结论已得到全面解决
  • 赠款:
    • 没有发现不足之处。 他们测试的两项主要补助金没有发现书面发现。 该学区被认为补助金风险较低。
  • 对 7 个领域的国家审计标准遵守情况进行了测试。 
    • 无问题--无书面结论。
  • 上一年的预算金额问题已全部解决。

大泉营地30:25

业务主管 Derek Anderson 介绍了情况。 学区总监和业务主管已经与查德-邓肯(Chad Duncan)和比尔-斯普隆格(Bill Sprunger)会面,他们每年夏天都为学区监管大泉营地。他们还分别与普罗沃市会面,讨论将营地迁移到常规营地下方的草地上。他们向学校董事会提出了以下建议:

  • 如果董事会认为大泉夏令营提供的体验和学习符合我们对学生学习以及为学生提供独特体验的愿景和使命,那么我们建议在 2024 年继续在现有地点举办大泉夏令营。
    • 我们将重建这些平台,使其能够持续到 2024 年赛季。
    • 训练营的运作方式将与以往类似。
    • 将确定一个人跟班查德-邓肯,以便在某个时候由另一个人接任营地协调员的职位,而这个人的合同期不是 242 天。
  • 如果大泉营地在 2024 年之后仍将继续,我们将跟踪所有当年的费用,进行估算,并就两个地点的永久性建筑发出招标书,以比较将营地保留在当前地点与搬迁到草地的费用。然后,我们将向教育委员会提交这些数字,以寻求指导。

学校安全最新情况:49:25

学生服务部主任 Jason Garrison 介绍了情况。 为谨慎起见,介绍并没有过于详细,以保持所采取的安全和安保措施的有效性。校区制定了一项多学科安全和安保计划,所有部门都参与其中。 其中一些重点工作如下

  • RAPTOR 访客管理系统
    • 除两所综合高中外,其他学校均已实施。 由于需要对这些地点的工作人员进行培训,因此它们处于不同的实施阶段。 
  • 楼宇通道小组委员会
    • 委员会召开了两次会议。 他们是
      • 审查政策,精简内容。 
      • 讨论了通往建筑物的外门的利弊。 
      • 讨论了地区地点的警报接入和运行时间。
  • 早期探测系统
    • BARK - 学生在线交流
    • SafeUT 匿名举报
    • 内容管理器警报/报告
    • 基于证据的学生威胁评估
  • 现在,所有学校都安装了窗户防护层。
  • 学校安全与支持补助金 
    • HB61 安全要求
      • 项目
        • 室内监控摄像头数量增加
        • 外窗保护层增加数量
  • 学校安全专家津贴 - 根据 HB61 法案,每所学校必须有一名学校安全专家。 

理事 McCabe 询问学校外部照明是否是法案的一部分。 这个问题已经提出来了,但不是法案的一部分。  

学生委员会成员 Will Weidner 询问了有关安全的错误信息,并以孩子们不知道某件事情是否是演习为例进行了说明。 加里森主任谈到了人为错误和清晰沟通的必要性。 他还指出,在紧急情况下,学区通信主任负责协调通信,以确保所有通信都清晰一致。

董事会对这些努力表示赞赏。

政策回顾:1:15:19

课程主任 Judy Rose 和专业发展主任 Karen Brock 向董事会介绍了这些政策更新。  

政策 4020 课程开发和采用:1:15:36

该政策有几处修改,包括犹他州法律的更新、职位名称的更新和清晰度的更新。 这是一读,将在网站上公布,供公众反馈。

政策 4040 - 专业发展:1:16:50

本政策经编辑后更加清晰,职称也有所变化。 该政策讨论了教育工作者如何获得在工资表上晋升的学分。 每年的谈判中都会涉及到这一问题,目的是为员工提供清晰的程序。这是一读,将在网站上公布,供公众反馈。

大型采购申请:1:23:35

业务主管德里克-安德森(Derek Anderson)介绍说,计划用于新岸线中学科学教室的桌子无法满足上课的需要。 学区正在申请购买更新的桌子,这些桌子将配备电源插座,并在表面加厚化学防护层以提供保护。

商务部增加职位:1:28:55

会计主任 Devyn Dayley 分享说,由于财务部门需要大量正常工作时间以外的时间来完成所需的工作,因此要求增加全职等值人员。业务部门要求在业务服务部门新设一个职位。该职位将为学校和各部门提供广泛的支持,并为财务办公室提供额外的采购、预算和会计支持。几年来,由于州政府和联邦政府对整个商务处提出了更多的要求、各种预算需求、需要更多的分析来做出更好的决策,以及新项目的设立或授予,导致商务处只能完成最重要的任务(而且需要在正常工作日之外花费大量的时间),无法分析趋势数据,也无法为行政部门和学校创建更有意义的预算信息。额外的支持将提供完成更多项目的能力,使董事会能够做出更多数据驱动的决策,确保学校和部门在做出财务决策时得到更好的支持。

商务会议

宣誓: 1:48:50

Jarod Sites,小学教育助理总监 

公众意见:1:49:19

没有公众意见

考虑批准审计报告:1:49:50

每年的财务结果都必须经过独立审计,并由董事会批准。董事会正在批准 22-23 财年的审计结果。

动议获得一致通过

考虑批准大额采购申请: 1:55:22

科学实验室需要耐化学腐蚀的独特桌子和用于设备的电源插座。原来计划的桌子不符合要求。更新后的桌子将配备电源插座。它的表面还有厚厚的化学防护层,以起到保护作用。

动议获得一致通过

考虑批准在商务部增设一个职位:1:57:43

由于财务部门需要大量正常工作时间以外的时间来完成所需的工作,因此要求增加全职等 级人员。

动议获得一致通过

Caleb Price
  • 传播主任
  • 凯莱布-普莱斯
0 Shares
zh_TW繁體中文

skip navigation

Study Session

Board Handbook Training: 1:15

President Rebecca Nielsen reviewed the “Request for Information” section of the Board Handbook.  She offered a reminder of the workload of the staff in the district that are putting the information together.

Construction Update: 4:00

Business Administrator Derek Anderson presented.

  • Timpview 
    • The plan to begin classes in the new section on December 4 has changed.  The school will still hold their three early out days  this week (11/29, 11/30, 12/1)  to allow staff to start moving into the new building.  Students moving in and attending classes in the new building will now be on December 11.  This allows for things to get wrapped up – specifically the inspection on the elevator and will allow additional time for staff to set up classrooms. Teachers will hold back what they need to teach in the old classrooms for the week of December 4-8.  There is a public open house on December 11.

Audit Report: 7:13

Business Administrator Derek Anderson presented.

The accountants reported on the audit.  These are the findings

  • The independent auditor opinion states that they have audited the financial statements and they state it is a fair representation of the fiscal year. They presented that the district received an Unmodified or Clean opinion
  • They identified one risk factor:
    • Risk Factor- Payroll environment
      • It was noted that there are many checklists as a part of payroll.  One part is the missed punch report.  The policy on handling missed punches is not very clear.  What is currently happening is an employees direct supervisor is made aware of the missed punch and asked t to help close out the punch report.  Payroll department often doesn’t get the response necessary from supervisors and has to close the punch report themselves.  This is not preferable. The auditor recommendation is to pull out the unclosed punch reports and delay payment until supervisor of employee takes care of of the missed punches.
  • Internal controls at large- software controls and who has the authority to do what. 
    • There need to be better controls. A lack of these controls exploits employees for fraud.  The auditors advised that the finance department be involved in all items that could involve finances coming in or out.  This was determined to require just a verbal comment this year. The auditors  will follow up during next year’s audit; if nothing has changed, it could possibly be in the official written findings.
  • Single Audit Report: 
    • No written findings – last years written finding was fully addresses
  • Grants:
    • No deficiencies found.  The two major grants they tested found no written findings.  The District is considered a low risk for grants.
  • State audit compliance criteria were tested in 7 areas. 
    • No issues- no written findings.
  • The Budget amount issue from the previous year was fully satisfied.

Camp Big Springs: 30:25

Business Administrator Derek Anderson presented.  The Superintendent and Business Administrator have met with Chad Duncan and Bill Sprunger who oversee Camp Big Springs for the district each summer. On separate occasions, they have also met with Provo City to discuss moving the location of the camp to a meadow below the regular campsite. The following recommendation was made to the school board:

  • If the Board feels that the experience and learning provided by Camp Big Springs is in alignment with our vision and mission for student learning and for providing a unique experience for students, then we recommend that for 2024, we continue Camp Big Springs at its current location.
    • We would rebuild the platforms to last for the 2024 season.
    • Camp would be run similar to how it has run in the past.
    • Someone would be identified to shadow Chad Duncan so that at some point, another individual could take over as camp coordinator that is not on a 242-day contract.
  • If Camp Big Springs will continue beyond 2024, we will track all current year costs, get estimates, and issue an RFP for the permanent structures at both locations that could give us a comparison of the cost of keeping the camp at its current location versus moving it to the meadow. Then we would present these numbers to the Board of Education for direction.

School Safety Update: 49:25

Jason Garrison, Director of Student Services, presented.  As a precaution, the presentation did not get too detailed in order to preserve the effectiveness of the safety and security being taken. The district has a multidisciplinary safety and security plan utilizing all departments.  Some of the highlighted efforts are as follows:

  • RAPTOR visitor management system
    • All are in place except at the two comprehensive high schools.  They are in various stages of implementation because of the need to train staff at the locations. 
  • Building Access Subcommittee
    • The committee has met twice.  They are:
      • Reviewing policies and streamlining the content. 
      • Discussed the pros and cons of exterior doors leading into buildings. 
      • Discussed alarm access and times of operation at district locations.
  • Early Detection Systems
    • BARK – student online communications
    • SafeUT anonymous tips
    • Contentkeeper Alerts/Report
    • Evidence Based Student Threat Assessment
  • Window Protective Laminate is now on all schools.
  • School Safety & Support Grant 
    • HB61 Safety Requirements
      • Projects
        • Interior Surveillance Cameras increase number
        • Exterior Windows Protective Laminate increase number
  • School Safety Specialist Stipend Grant – there has to be one for every school according to HB61. 

Board Member McCabe asked if exterior lighting at schools was part of the bill.  That topic has come up, but is not part of the bill.  

Student Board Member Will Weidner asked about misinformation about security and used the example about kids not knowing if something was a drill or not.  Director Garrison talked about human error and the need for clear communication.  He also stated that in emergency situations, the district’s Director of Communications is coordinating the communication to ensure that all communications are clear and consistent.

The board expressed appreciation for these efforts.

Policy Review: 1:15:19

Judy Rose, Director of Curriculum, and Karen Brock, Director of Professional Development, presented these policy updates to the board.  

Policy 4020 Curriculum Development and Adoption: 1:15:36

This policy it has a few edits, including updates due to Utah Law, updated job titles and for clarity.  This is the first reading and it will be posted on the website for public feedback.

Policy 4040 – Professional Development: 1:16:50

This policy has beed edited for clarity and for job title changes.  The policy discusses how educators can get credit to advance on the salary schedule.  This comes up yearly in negotiations and is intended to provide clarity on the process to employees. This is the first reading and it will be posted on the website for public feedback.

Large Purchase Request: 1:23:35

Business Administrator  Derek Anderson shared that the tables planned for the science classrooms in the new Shoreline Middle School were not sufficient for the needs of the classes.  The district is requesting to purchase updated tables that will have electrical outlets, as well as a thick chemical guard on the surface for protection.

Addition of Position for Business Department: 1:28:55

Devyn Dayley, Director of Accounting, shared that due to the significant need for the finance department’s time outside of regular working hours to get the required work completed, additional FTE has been requested. The business department is asking for a new position in Business Services. This position will provide a wide array of support to schools and departments and allow for additional purchasing, budget and accounting support in the Finance Office. For several years, additional state and federal requirements throughout Business Services, various budget needs, additional analytics needed to make better decisions, and new programs created or awarded, have resulted in only being able to complete the most important tasks (and with a tremendous amount of time outside of the normal workday) and the inability to analyze trend data and create more meaningful budget information for administration and schools. Additional support will provide the ability to complete more projects that will allow the board to make more data-driven decisions and make sure schools and departments are better supported in their financial decisions.

Business Meeting

Pledge of Allegiance: 1:48:50

Jarod Sites, Assistant Superintendent Elementary Education 

Public Input: 1:49:19

No public input

Consideration to Approve the Audit Report: 1:49:50

Each year, the financial results must be independently audited and approved by the board. The board is approving the results of the FY 22-23 audit.

Motion passes unanimously

Consideration to Approve Large Purchase Request: 1:55:22

Science labs need unique tables that are resistant to chemicals and electrical outlets for equipment used. The original tables that were planned did not have the required needs. These updated tables will have electrical outlets. It also has a thick chemical guard on the surface for protection.

Motion passes unanimously

Consideration to Approve the Addition of a Position in the Business Department: 1:57:43

Due to the significant need for the finance department’s time outside of regular working hours to get the required work completed, additional FTE has been requested.

Motion passes unanimously

Caleb Price
  • Director of Communications
  • Caleb Price
0 Shares

Besides Black History Month, February is a time in our district to celebrate Career and Technical...

en_USEnglish