跳过导航

在本年度结束之前,我们向一些最优秀的教师和员工道别。今年退休的教师和教职员工与我们的社区分享了他们的许多心得。

我们感谢您长期以来的奉献,并将深深怀念您! 

 

Tina Fluehe - 采购,地区办事处

Tina Fluehe 是一位出色的采购官员!她一直致力于确保学区内所有部门都能高效地完成采购流程。她与全州各学区合作,确保所有学区使用的合同都具有竞争力和可用性。蒂娜对整个学区的影响将持续多年,她的工作将继续影响我们的决策。她一直热衷于为普罗沃市学区的师生打造安全、美丽的学校。她是许多人的良师益友。认识她的人都会怀念她的专业知识和工作热情,所有人都会感受到她在未来采购过程中带来的变化。

康妮-格兰奇 - 维护

康妮于 1986 年 1 月 3 日开始在普罗沃市学区工作,先是在法勒初中,然后在独立高中从事了六年的保管工作。离开独立中学后,她搬到了木工车间,并加入了维修团队。康妮总是记得每个人的生日,并带来各种蛋糕庆祝。她为新生儿或孙儿制作毯子,并总是为维修人员带来点心。她偶尔会组织一些聚餐活动,给大家增添乐趣,大家都很喜欢这些聚会。她的机智让大家开怀大笑。在学区工作期间,她最难忘的记忆是有人让她去独立学校的男厕所 "钓鱼"。一进厕所,她就发现其中一个小便池里有一条金鱼。每个有幸与 Connie 共事的人都会深深怀念她。

基思-里特尔--总监

基思-里特尔在犹他州、华盛顿州和加拿大不列颠哥伦比亚省维多利亚州从事教育工作长达 39 年。在过去的 11 年中,他一直担任普罗沃市教育局局长。在执掌普罗沃市学区之前,Keith 曾在华盛顿州莱克伍德的 Clover Park 学区担任了四年的副学区总监。在此之前,他曾担任过 11 年的高中校长,其中 4 年在卡米亚克高中(华盛顿州穆基尔蒂奥),7 年在阿纳科特斯高中(华盛顿州阿纳科特斯)。2004 年,他荣幸地当选为华盛顿州年度最佳高中校长。担任校长多年来,他通过强调 "希望与紧迫"、"普罗沃之路"、"时间宝贵"、"了解你的影响 "和 "我们拥有的孩子 "等主题,帮助学生、员工和社区成员。里特尔校长一直是学生和普罗沃社区的积极力量。我们感谢他的奉献和服务。

丽贝卡-克拉克 - 阿米莉亚-埃尔哈特小学教师

贝琪在普罗沃学区工作了 31 年,其中大部分时间都在阿米莉亚-爱哈特学校工作。贝基是一位优秀的教师,在她的教学生涯中,数百名学生的生活发生了变化。她深受学生、家长、教职员工和社区的爱戴。贝基关心每一位学生。她深入了解学生,了解他们的最佳学习方式。她致力于帮助每个学生发挥最大潜能。她看到了学生的能力,并努力帮助他们达到目标。她能对课堂管理提出很高的要求,并帮助每个学生达到这一水平。她的课程思维缜密、引人入胜、节奏明快。她知道如何利用技术来提高学生的学习效率,教学思路清晰。贝基通过嵌入形成性评估和及时回应每个学生的不同学习需求,在差异化教学方面做得非常出色。

Carolene Cook - 教师,石板峡谷

卡罗琳-库克(Carolene Cook)养育了七个孩子,多年前她选择续签杨百翰大学颁发的家庭与消费科学(FACS)中等教育执照。幸运的是,普罗沃市学区和少年司法与青年服务部(Division of Juvenile Justice and Youth Services)将她作为专业教育工作者在石板峡谷学校(Slate Canyon School)工作 11 年。与服刑人员一起工作并不是最轻松的教学任务,但 Carolene 很快就与学生、教师和监狱工作人员建立了良好的关系。多年来,除了教授传统的 FACS 课程外,她还获得了一般金融知识认证。最终,她开设了为期一年的成人角色和财务知识课程,其中包括烹饪模块和经常被模仿但从未被复制的石板峡谷青年中心婴儿模拟计划。我们衷心祝愿她今后一切顺利。 

杰夫-桑福德 - 维护

杰夫于 1988 年 8 月加入学区,担任校车司机。1993 年,他毕业并获得学士学位。那时,他在夏天和早上的巴士运行间隙做维修工作。他给巴士加油,检查机油。后来的几个夏天,他负责所有的座椅维修工作。他还做过一年的电气维修工作,然后在校区附近做泥瓦匠、操场、焊接和地板工程。2006 年,普罗沃高中的维修人员约翰-克拉克退休,杰夫申请并得到了他的工作。在培训时,约翰向杰夫展示了如何修理马桶冲水阀、锅炉房的位置、如何安排活动的供暖和空调,并把他介绍给了首席保管员。然后,在上午 11 点左右,约翰说:"好吧,我还可以教你很多东西,但你会明白的。然后,他坐上卡车离开了......杰夫确实明白了。 

James Davis - 创新学习部教师 

吉姆-戴维斯(Jim Davis)在普罗沃市学区从事教育工作长达 19 年,先是在 Timpview 学校,然后在普罗沃高中,最后担任学区创新学习专家。作为一名英语教师,他的基本目标是帮助学生探索自己的激情,同时发展英语语言艺术课程的核心技能。他采用学生自主学习的方式,这对他吸引最不情愿学习的学生的能力至关重要。在他的职业生涯中,吉姆展现出了激励人心的成长心态和指导天赋。在他的职业生涯中,他一直担任教师领导,指导和辅导新教师,并与同行开展跨学科合作,以提高教学水平,更重要的是,加强了 PLC 的工作。他之所以选择成为一名创新学习专家,是因为这是一个新的挑战,需要学习新的东西,而且这也是他成为其他教师导师的最后机会。

Rachel Krrushinsky - 行政助理,Timpanogos 小学

瑞秋一直是坦帕诺格斯学校的固定成员。在过去的 24 年里,她一直是管理这所学校的 "齿轮",我们贴心地称她为 "K 夫人"(因为她的名字太难听了)。她能够处理棘手的家长、棘手的学生,甚至棘手的老师,并在这一切中保持冷静--这是她最优秀的品质之一。她似乎对所有问题都有答案!多任务处理!!!!!她用胶布粘过的鞋子、修过的眼镜、粘过的外套拉链,数都数不过来。还有她修理不完的复印机!!!她对我们学校的支持是如此之大!她非常支持我们学校的工作,在不同的节日都会装饰办公室,让学生们感到温馨,更不用说老师们有多喜欢了!虽然我们知道这是个来之不易的退休生活,但整个 Timpanogos 社区都会非常想念 Rachel。

Diane Cluff - 教师,普罗沃高中

我想对您作为普罗沃市教育局教师的辛勤工作表示钦佩和感谢。您在普罗沃高中工作多年,在 30 多年的职业生涯中为我们的社区做出了巨大贡献。普罗沃高中因您的工作和您为学生们带来的改变而变得更加美好。在普罗沃高中工作期间,您作为 FACS 教师的领导能力令人钦佩,是我们学校社区不可或缺的一部分。您的经验、风度以及与弗吉尼亚大学、比亚迪大学和其他大学合作的领导能力给我们留下了深刻的印象,并帮助我们开发了一个强大的项目,随着新教师的加入,这个项目将继续下去。您在社区内建立的关系将使您的学生受益匪浅。

Maria Thurston - 行政助理,普罗沃峰小学

玛丽亚-瑟斯顿(Maria Thurston)在担任首席秘书期间,对多所学校和数千名学生产生了重大影响。她善于了解家长和教师的需求,举止亲切,富有幽默感,是任何学校社区的宝贵财富。作为一名主任秘书,Maria 在确保学校日常工作顺利进行方面发挥着至关重要的作用。她的经验和知识无疑能帮助她在潜在的挑战变成重大问题之前就预见到并解决它们,这有助于创造一个更加高效和有效的学校环境。Maria 善于讲故事,能让人开怀大笑。她的这些特质有助于在学校营造一种积极、温馨的氛围,对学生、家长和教职员工都产生了重大影响。在她的职业生涯中,她感动了无数学生和家庭。

Christine Durst - 校区办公室媒体专家

克里斯蒂娜-杜斯特(Christine Durst)长期在普罗沃市教育局工作!从 1989 年到 2023 年,她在多个岗位上为学生和教职员工服务。她的职业生涯始于担任该学区 Canyon Crest 小学的第一位计算机实验室教师!之后,她又担任了八年深受学生欢迎的学校图书管理员。九年前,她来到学区办公室领导图书馆媒体中心。在每个岗位上,她都以创新、积极、乐于助人和以儿童为中心而著称!作为学区图书馆媒体协调员,她开发了多个广受欢迎的项目,包括 "普罗沃阅读"(Provo Reads)计划、"图书大战"(Battle of the Books)和 "作家大会"(Author Con)!Christine 深知人际关系的重要性;她是学区图书管理员的拥护者。没有克里斯蒂娜,普罗沃将不一样--我们会想念她的!

Norma Metz - 日落景观小学教师

Norma Metz 是一位备受学生、家长和老师尊敬的优秀教师。在她 36 年的职业生涯中,她一直致力于教育和启发青少年的心灵。在诺玛的职业生涯中,她曾在多所小学担任教师,她对学生的奉献精神和教学热情为她赢得了杰出教育工作者的美誉。诺玛最喜欢的一句话是:"把人们当作他们应该成为的人,你就能帮助他们成为他们有能力成为的人"。在她的职业生涯中,这一信念一直指导着她的教学理念,激励着她帮助学生充分发挥潜能,成就一番事业。我们非常感谢诺玛多年来的服务、她对卓越教育的不懈追求以及她对学生的激励承诺。 

辛迪-史密斯 - 岩石峡谷教学助理

辛迪-史密斯(Cindi Smith)是少有的让人感觉像中了彩票一样的人。自 1994 年以来,她一直在普罗沃市学区工作,让岩石峡谷学校的特殊教育教室充满了光明和平静。Cindi 曾担任特殊教育助教,她的善良和耐心影响了数百名学生。每年暑假,她都会抽出时间为许多学生提供辅导,因为她知道他们需要额外的帮助才能不断进步。她的所有学生都知道她爱他们,希望他们快乐和成功。感谢辛迪,感谢她对学生和我们所有人的奉献和爱!

Leslie Zuber - 百年中学特殊教育教师

莱斯利是百年学校的中流砥柱!她已在行为单元、独立班级、轻度/中度班级任教 19 年,还担任过特殊教育教师组长。她是我们学生支持团队的成员,她的意见非常宝贵。她非常了解学生的行为习惯,但她也始终把每个学生视为独特的个体。她对所有学生都抱有最高的期望,真正相信他们能够发挥自己的最大潜能。她努力帮助学生相信自己也是如此。Leslie 还指导过无数的新教师,她是任何人都求之不得的最佳导师。她对学生的爱溢于言表,是真正的学生工作专家。多年来,她一直是教师、学生、家长和管理部门的资源库。我们将深深地怀念她,但我们也为她的新冒险感到兴奋。 

Sarah Combs - 特殊教育教师,Sunset View 小学

莎拉-康姆斯(Sarah Combs)是一位杰出的特殊教育教师,30 年来她一直致力于为学生的生活带来积极的影响。她对教学的热情和对学生的承诺为她赢得了杰出教育工作者的美誉。她坚定不移地相信所有孩子都能学好,这激励着她为学生付出更多,不断寻求新的方法来支持他们的成长和发展。多年来,她的知识和技能使她在学生及其家庭的生活中发挥了重要作用。在她的职业生涯中,萨拉对教学的热情、对学生的承诺以及对卓越的追求使她成为我们教育界不可多得的一员。在未来的岁月里,她将继续为学生的生活带来积极的影响。 

卡尔-戈尔丁--普罗沃高中教师

我想对您作为普罗沃市学区教师所付出的辛勤劳动表示钦佩和感谢。您有幸在多个地方工作,并在 30 多年的职业生涯中为我们的社区做出了巨大贡献。普罗沃高中因您的工作和您为学生们带来的改变而变得更加美好。在普罗沃高中工作期间,您作为行政主管教师和数学系不可或缺的一员,发挥了令人钦佩的领导作用。您的经验、风度以及与弗吉尼亚大学合作的领导力给我们留下了深刻的印象,并帮助我们建立了一个强大的 CE 项目,随着新教师的加入,这个项目还将继续下去。当您开始人生的新旅程和新篇章时,我们 PHS 的全体师生都会想念您的。

Amy King - 岩石峡谷和春溪小学教师

艾米-金是岩石峡谷小学一名出色的特殊教育教师。她从 2008 年开始在普罗沃学区任教,之前曾在阿尔卑斯山任教。她的学生总是知道他们是多么受人爱戴,他们是多么珍贵。她的管理能力非常出色。她的课堂气氛和环境对所有学生来说都非常温馨。遇到困难时,她总能保持冷静。她的队友们因为她的态度而感受到支持和关心。艾米还与我们的教师建立了良好的关系。她的学生家长喜欢并信任她,相信她能为他们的孩子提供成功所需的支持。艾米是一个团队合作者。她以开朗、协作、参与的态度领导着岩石峡谷的特殊教育团队,并对每一位与她打交道的人给予深切的关怀。艾米是我们这个职业的真正功臣,是一名模范教师。她深受同学、员工和社区的喜爱和尊重。我们将在岩石峡谷怀念她。

Ron Twitchell - 地区办公室评估、数据和研究主任

罗恩-特切尔(Ron Twitchell)多年来在教育领域做出了杰出贡献。罗恩在教育领域拥有 35 年的丰富经验,无论是作为一名班主任,还是作为地区一级的教师和教学支持人员,他都为教育事业做出了重大贡献。除了接受正规教育,罗恩还积极制定教育政策和课程开发。他曾与犹他州教育办公室合作开发该州的核心课程,并在多个委员会任职,这表明他致力于提高教育标准和实践。罗恩对教育领域的贡献不仅限于学术领域。他一直是普罗沃教育协会备受尊敬的领导者,曾担任该协会主席长达三年之久。他还是田径、摔跤和女子快投垒球的教练。罗恩对教育的承诺、他的专业知识以及他对专业发展和领导力的奉献值得称赞。通过多年的服务,他对教育领域产生了持久的影响,他的贡献得到了同事、学生和社区的衷心感谢。 

Ty Robinson - 教师,普罗沃高中

我想对您作为普罗沃市学区教师所付出的辛勤劳动表示钦佩和感谢。您有幸在普罗沃高中工作多年,并在 30 多年的职业生涯中为我们的社区做出了巨大贡献。普罗沃高中因您的工作和您为学生们带来的改变而变得更加美好。在普罗沃高中工作期间,您作为科学教师的领导能力令人钦佩,是我们科学部不可或缺的一部分。您的经验、风度以及在与 UVU、BYU 和其他机构合作方面的领导力给我们留下了深刻的印象,并帮助我们开发了一个强大的项目,随着新教师的加入,这个项目还将继续下去。当您开始人生的新旅程和新篇章时,我们 PHS 的所有人都会想念您。学生和家长会怀念您和蔼可亲的举止,怀念您在科学课程之外教授的人生课程。 

Spencer Tuinei
  • 通讯专家
  • 斯宾塞-图伊内
0 Shares
zh_TW繁體中文

Skip To Content Skip to Translation Menu

Before the year closes, we say goodbye to some of our best teachers and staff. Those retiring this year shared much of themselves with our community.

We thank you for your longstanding dedication and will miss you dearly! 

 

Tina Fluehe – Purchasing, District Office

Tina Fluehe has been an amazing procurement officer! She has been dedicated to ensuring that the purchasing process is done efficiently for all departments within the District. She has worked with districts across the state to make sure contracts used by all districts are competitive and usable. Tina’s influence throughout the District will be felt for many years, and her work will continue to influence our decisions. She has been passionate about making schools safe and beautiful place for the students and teachers of Provo City School District. She has been a sounding board and friend to many. Her expertise and enthusiasm for her job will be missed by those who knew her, and all will feel the changes she has made in the purchasing process in the future.

Connie Grange – Maintenance

Connie started work with Provo City School District on January 3, 1986, first at Farrer Junior High and then at Independence High School, where she worked in custodial for six years. When she left Independence, she moved to the woodshop and joined the maintenance team. Connie always remembered everyone’s birthdays and brought various cakes to celebrate. She made blankets for new babies or grandbabies and always brought treats for the maintenance guys. She organized potlucks to spice things up occasionally, and everyone enjoyed these gatherings. She made us all laugh with her sharp wit. Her most unforgettable memory while working in the District was when she was asked to go “fishing” in the boys’ restroom at Independence. Upon entering the bathroom, she found a goldfish in one of the urinals. Connie will be deeply missed by everyone who had the pleasure of working with her.

Keith Rittel – Superintendent

Keith Rittel has been an educator in Utah, Washington, and Victoria, BC, Canada, for 39 years. For the last 11 years, he has served as the Superintendent of Provo City School District. Before taking the reins in Provo, Keith was Deputy Superintendent of Clover Park School District (Lakewood, WA) for four years. Previously, he served 11 years as a high school principal, four years at Kamiak HS (Mukilteo, WA), and seven years at Anacortes HS (Anacortes, WA). In 2004, he was honored to be elected Washington State’s High School Principal of the Year. Over the years as superintendent, he has helped the students, employees, and community members by stressing themes such as Hope and Urgency, The Provo Way, Time is Precious, Know Thy Impact, and The Kids We Have. Superintendent Rittel has been a positive force for students and the Provo Community. We are grateful for his dedication and service.

Rebecca Clark – Teacher, Amelia Earhart Elementary

Becky has worked for 31 years in the Provo School District, most of those years at Amelia Earhart. Becky is a great teacher who has made a difference in the lives of hundreds of students over her time here. She is well-loved by students, parents, staff, and the community. Becky cares about each student. She gets to know them and learns how they best learn. She is committed to helping each student reach their highest potential. She sees what they can do/become and puts in the work to help them get there. She can create high classroom management expectations, and she helps each student rise to that level. Her lessons are thoughtful, engaging, and well-paced. She knows how to use technology to increase student learning and is very clear in her instruction. Becky does a great job differentiating her instruction by embedding formative assessment and responding at the moment to the different learning needs of each student.

Carolene Cook – Teacher, Slate Canyon

After raising a family of seven children, Carolene Cook opted to renew her secondary education license in Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) from Brigham Young University years prior. Fortunately for Provo City School District and the Division of Juvenile Justice and Youth Services, the Slate Canyon School would be the only school she would work for as a professional educator for the next 11 years. Working with incarcerated populations is not the easiest teaching assignment, yet Carolene instantly developed a rapport with the students, faculty, and facility staff. In addition to the traditional FACS courses she taught over the years, she went on to become endorsed in General Financial Literacy. Eventually, she established a year-long Adult Roles and Financial Literacy curriculum which included cooking modules and the often imitated, never duplicated Slate Canyon Youth Center Infant Simulator Program. We wish her the very best moving forward. 

Jeff Sanford – Maintenance

Jeff started with the District in August of 1988 as a bus driver. He attended BYU between bus runs, graduating with a bachelor’s degree in 1993. By then, he was doing maintenance over the summers and between bus runs in the morning. He fueled buses and checked their oil. Later, he did all the seat repairs for several summers. He also worked in electrical maintenance for a year and then did masonry, playgrounds, welding, and flooring projects around the District. In 2006, the maintenance person at Provo High, John Clark, retired, and Jeff applied for and got his job. For training, John showed Jeff how to fix a toilet flush valve, where the boiler room was, how to schedule heating and air for events, and introduced him to the head custodian. Then, at about 11:00 in the morning, John said, “Well, there’s a lot more I could show you, but you’ll figure it out.” Then, he got in his truck and left… and Jeff did figure it out. 

James Davis – Teacher, Innovative Learning 

Jim Davis has served as an educator in Provo City School District for 19 years, first at Timpview, then at Provo High, and finally as a district Innovative Learning Specialist. As an English teacher, his fundamental goal was to help his students explore their passions while developing core skills in the English Language Arts curriculum. His use of self-directed student learning was critical in his ability to engage even his most reluctant learners. Throughout his career, Jim has demonstrated an inspiring growth mindset and a gift for mentorship. He has served as a teacher-leader throughout his career, mentoring and coaching new teachers and collaborating with his peers across disciplines to enhance instruction and, importantly, the work of PLCs. He took the leap to become an Innovative Learning Specialist because it provided a new challenge with new things to learn and because it provided a final chance to serve as a mentor to other teachers.

Rachel Krrushinsky – Administrative Assistant, Timpanogos Elementary

Rachel has been a fixture here at Timpanogos. Mrs. K, as she thoughtfully let us call her (because her name is so hard to say), has been the gear that has run this school for the last 24 years. She has been able to handle difficult parents, difficult students, and even difficult teachers and remain calm through it all – one of her best qualities. She seems to have all the answers to all the questions! And talk about MULTI-TASKING!!!!! We can’t even begin to count the number of shoes she has duct-taped together, glasses she’s repaired, and stuck zippers on coats she’s fixed. And then there are the copy machines she has endlessly repaired!!! She showed so much support for our school by decorating the office during the different holidays, Making it a welcoming place for the students – not to mention how much the teachers enjoyed it! While we know this is a much-earned retirement, Rachel will be greatly missed by our entire Timpanogos community.

Diane Cluff – Teacher, Provo High School

I want to express my admiration and appreciation for your hard work as a Provo City School District teacher. You have worked at PHS for many years and have given back so much to our community over a career spanning more than 30 years. Provo High School is a better place for the work that you have done and for the difference that you have made for your students. During your work at PHS, you have led out admirably as a FACS Teacher and have been an integral part of our school community Your experiences, demeanor, and leadership in partnering with UVU, BYU, and others have made a lasting impression and helped us develop a strong program that can continue as new teachers step into this role. Those who follow you will benefit immensely from this direction and from the relationships that you have built within our community.

Maria Thurston – Administrative Assistant, Provo Peaks Elementary

Maria Thurston has made a significant impact in multiple schools and thousands of students throughout her career as a head secretary. Her ability to understand the needs of both parents and teachers, as well as her friendly demeanor and sense of humor, make her a valuable asset to any school community. As a head secretary, Maria played a vital role in ensuring that the school’s daily operations run smoothly. Her experience and knowledge undoubtedly help her to anticipate and address potential challenges before they become major issues, which helps to create a more efficient and effective school environment. Maria is a great storyteller who can make people laugh. These qualities help to create a positive and welcoming atmosphere within the school, which has significantly impacted students, parents, and staff alike. She has touched the lives of countless students and families throughout her career.

Christine Durst – Media Specialist, District Office

Christine Durst has been a longtime fixture in Provo City School District! From 1989 to 2023, she served students and staff in several positions. She began her career as the first computer lab instructor at Canyon Crest Elementary in the District! She then worked as a very popular school librarian for eight years. Nine years ago, she came to the district office to lead the library media centers. She has been known to be innovative, positive, helpful, and child-centered in each position! As the district Library Media Coordinator, she has developed several popular programs, including the Provo Reads initiative, Battle of the Books, and Author Con! Christine knows the importance of relationships; she is a champion for the District’s librarians. Provo won’t be the same without Christine–she will be missed!

Norma Metz – Teacher, Sunset View Elementary

Norma Metz is a highly respected and accomplished teacher who students, parents, and teachers belove. She has devoted 36 years of her career to educating and inspiring young minds. Norma has been a teacher at several elementary schools throughout her career,and her dedication to her students and passion for teaching have earned her a reputation as an outstanding educator. One of Norma’s favorite quotes is “Treat people as if they were what they ought to be, and you help them become what they are capable of becoming.” This belief has guided her teaching philosophy throughout her career, inspiring her to help her students reach their full potential and achieve great things. We are immensely grateful for Norma’s many years of service, her unwavering dedication to excellence in education, and her inspiring commitment to her students. 

Cindi Smith – Instructional Assistant, Rock Canyon

Cindi Smith is one of those rare individuals who makes you feel like you’ve won the lottery to have met her. She has worked in Provo City School District since 1994 – filling the special education rooms at Rock Canyon with light and calm. Cindi has taught as a special education aide, impacting hundreds of students with her kindness and patience. She took time each summer to provide tutoring for many as well, knowing that they would need extra help to keep progressing each year. All of her students knew that she loved them individually, and wanted them to be happy and successful. Thank you Cindi, for your dedication and love for your students and all of us!

Leslie Zuber – Special Education Teacher, Centennial Middle School

Leslie is a staple at Centennial! She has taught for 19 years in the behavior unit, self-contained classes, mild/moderate classes, and worked as our Special Education teacher leader. She is a member of our Student Support Team, and her input is invaluable. She understands behavior so well, but she also always considers each student as a unique individual. She has the highest expectations for all students and truly believes they can achieve their highest potential. She works hard to help the students believe that about themselves as well. Leslie has also mentored countless new teachers and is truly the best mentor anyone could ask for. Her love for her students is apparent in all she does, and she is truly an expert at working with them. She has been a resource for teachers, students, parents, and administration over the years. She will be sorely missed, but we are excited for her in this new adventure. 

Sarah Combs – Special Education Teacher, Sunset View Elementary

Sarah Combs has been an outstanding Special Education teacher who has dedicated 30 years of her career to making a positive impact on the lives of her students. Her passion for teaching and commitment to her students have earned her a reputation as an exceptional educator. Her unwavering belief that all children can learn has inspired her to go above and beyond for her students, always seeking new ways to support their growth and development. Her knowledge and skills have served her well over the years, enabling her to make a meaningful difference in the lives of her students and their families. Throughout her career, Sarah’s passion for teaching, commitment to her students, and dedication to excellence have made her an invaluable member of our educational community. Her legacy of making a positive impact on the lives of her students will be felt for years to come. 

Karl Golding – Teacher, Provo High School

I want to express my admiration and appreciation for all of your hard work as a teacher in the Provo City School District. You have had the privilege of working in several locations, and have given back so much to our community over a career that spans more than 30 years. Provo High School is a better place for the work that you have done and for the difference that you have made for your students. During your work at PHS, you have led out admirably as a CE Teacher and an integral part of our Math Department. Your experiences, demeanor, and leadership in partnering with UVU have made a lasting impression and helped us develop a strong CE program that can continue as new teachers step into this role. All of us at PHS will miss you as you begin a new journey and chapter in your life.

Amy King – Teacher, Rock Canyon and Spring Creek Elementary

Amy King is a phenomenal Special Education teacher at Rock Canyon Elementary. She has taught in Provo School District since 2008, and taught in Alpine before that. Her students always know how much they’re loved and how precious they are. Her management skills are terrific. The classroom climate and environment are very warm and inviting for all students. She always keeps her cool when things get challenging. Her teammates feel supported and cared about personally because of how she treats them. Amy also has developed a wonderful relationship within our faculty. Parents of her students love and trust her to provide the support their children need to be successful. Amy is a team player. She has led our special education team at Rock Canyon with cheerfulness, collaboration, engagement, and a deep level of care for everyone she interacts with. Amy is a real credit to our profession, a model teacher. She is well liked and respected by her cohorts, staff and our community. We will miss her at Rock Canyon.

Ron Twitchell – Director of Assessment, Data and Research, District Office

Ron Twitchell has many years of exemplary service in education. With 35 years of experience in the field, Ron has made significant contributions to education, both as a classroom teacher and as district-level support for teachers and instruction. In addition to his formal education, Ron has actively shaped educational policy and curriculum development. He has worked with the State Office of Education for Utah on developing the State’s Core Curriculum and has served on various committees, demonstrating his dedication to improving educational standards and practices. Ron’s contributions to the field of education go beyond the academic realm. He has been a respected leader in the Provo Education Association, serving as its president for three years. He has also coached track and field, wrestling, and girls fast pitch softball. Ron’s commitment to education, his expertise, and his dedication to professional development and leadership are commendable. He has made a lasting impact on the field of education through his years of service, and his contributions are truly appreciated by his colleagues, students, and the community. 

Ty Robinson – Teacher, Provo High School

I want to express my admiration and appreciation for all of your hard work as a teacher in the Provo City School District. You have had the privilege of working at PHS for many years, and have given back so much to our community over a career that spans more than 30 years. Provo High School is a better place for the work that you have done and for the difference that you have made for your students. During your work at PHS, you have led out admirably as a Science and have been an integral part of our Science Department. Your experiences, demeanor, and leadership in partnering with UVU, BYU, and others have made a lasting impression and helped us develop a strong program that can continue as new teachers step into this role. All of us at PHS will miss you as you begin a new journey and chapter in your life. Students and parents will miss your kind and gentle demeanor and the life lessons that you taught in addition to the Science curriculum. 

Spencer Tuinei
  • Communication Specialist
  • Spencer Tuinei
0 Shares
en_USEnglish