Provo City School District Covid-19 Updates

The following guidelines have been issued by the Utah County Health Department and will be implemented as needed for any school reaching the COVID-19 threshold. The state requires a Test to Stay event when a school reaches the established threshold of positive COVID-19 cases

  • 2% of students test positive for COVID-19 within the previous 14 days at schools with 1,500 or more students
  • 30 students test positive for COVID-19 within the previous 14 days at schools with fewer than 1,500 students

By law, parental consent is required to test students under the age of 18. In conjunction with school and  district personnel, the State and County Health Departments will conduct the testing for students.

There are three possible Test to Stay outcomes:

  1. Positive Test: Students who test positive MUST isolate at home. They may return to in-person learning and extracurricular activities after they complete their 10-day isolation period.
  2. Negative Test: Students who test negative and do not have any symptoms of COVID-19 may continue in-person learning and extracurricular activities.
  3. Did Not Participate: Students who do not participate will quarantine at home for 10 days. They may return to in-person learning and extracurricular activities after 10 days.

If your student is absent from the Test to Stay event, the parent must seek testing on their own and provide the school with their test results to receive clearance to return to school. The COVID-19 test must be provided by your healthcare provider or an approved alternate test location within two days of the Test to Stay event. At home PCR or antigen tests will not be accepted.

We appreciate your cooperation to help our school community be safe and healthy.

Procedimiento de test to stay

El Departamento de Salud del Condado de Utah ha emitido las siguientes directivas y se implementarán cuando sea necesario para cualquier escuela que alcance el límite de COVID-19. El estado requiere un evento de Test to Stay cuando una escuela alcanza el umbral establecido de casos positivos de COVID-19

  • El 2% de los estudiantes da positivo en la prueba de COVID-19 dentro de los 14 días anteriores en las escuelas con 1, 500 o más estudiantes
  • 30 estudiantes dan positivo a COVID-19 en los 14 días anteriores en escuelas con menos de 1, 500 estudiantes

Por ley, se requiere el consentimiento de los padres para hacer pruebas a los estudiantes menores de 18 años. Junto con el personal de la escuela y del distrito, los Departamentos de Salud del Estado y del Condado realizarán las pruebas a los estudiantes.

Hay tres posibles resultados de Test to Stay:

  1. Prueba positiva: Los estudiantes que den positivo en la prueba DEBEN aislarse en casa. Podrán volver al aprendizaje en persona y a las actividades extracurriculares después de cumplir su período de aislamiento de 10 días.
  2. Prueba negativa: Los estudiantes que den negativo en la prueba y no tengan ningún síntoma de COVID-19 pueden continuar con el aprendizaje en persona y las actividades extracurriculares.
  3. No participó: Los alumnos que no participen estarán en cuarentena en casa durante 10 días. Podrán volver al aprendizaje presencial y a las actividades extracurriculares después de 10 días.

Si su estudiante está ausente durante el evento Test to Stay, los padres deben buscar la prueba por su cuenta y proporcionar a la escuela con los resultados de su prueba para recibir la autorización para regresar. La prueba de COVID-19 debe ser proporcionada por su proveedor de atención médica o un lugar de prueba alternativo aprobado dentro de los dos días del evento Test to Stay. No se aceptarán exámenes PCR o de antígenos realizados en casa.

Agradecemos su cooperación para ayudar a nuestra comunidad escolar a estar segura y saludable.

0 Shares