Provo City School District https://provo.edu Quality Choices for Every Child's Future Thu, 22 Feb 2018 20:56:18 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Mountain Man Visits Wasatch Elementary https://provo.edu/news/mountain-man-visits-wasatch-elementary/ Thu, 22 Feb 2018 17:57:15 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10320 A Davy Crockett look-alike packed up his furs and his wide-brimmed hat and headed to Wasatch Elementary this morning. This individual, known as the “mountain man”, visited Wasatch to teach fourth graders all about the history of the fur trade and legendary mountain men. His presentation, “Mountain Men and the History of the Fur Trade” […]]]> New Assistant Principal Announced at Wasatch Elementary https://provo.edu/news/new-assistant-principal-announced-at-wasatch-elementary/ Thu, 22 Feb 2018 15:44:35 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10315 Jessica Jensen has been announced as the new assistant principal at Wasatch Elementary School.  She will be replacing Mike Barker, who was recently named the principal at Lakeview Elementary School. Jessica has worked in Provo City School District for the past eight years.  She began as a 4th grade teacher at Provost Elementary School, where […]]]> Centennial Middle Excels at Regional Science Bowl https://provo.edu/news/centennial-middle-excels-at-regional-science-bowl/ Wed, 21 Feb 2018 22:56:31 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10311 Centennial Middle School students excelled at the 2018 Regional Science Bowl by placing first in the Western Idaho region. This region is comprised of schools from Utah, western Idaho and eastern Washington. In addition, the students and their teacher, Mrs. Ashley Damavandi, won a trip to the National competition in Washington DC this April. Centennial […]]]> February Provo Way Winners https://provo.edu/news/february-provo-way-winners/ Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:20:44 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10294 Provo City School District gladly awarded Provo Way awards in the month of January. The Provo Way award is an opportunity for the district to celebrate the positive things that students, teachers, administrators, parents and staff do for the district. The district presented the award within the classroom setting and broadcast it through Facebook Live. […]]]> Daily Herald Features PCSD Teacher and Student https://provo.edu/news/daily-herald-features-pcsd-teacher-and-student/ Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:18:47 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10282 Each week, the Daily Herald features different teachers and students from school districts around the state of Utah. The teachers and students are chosen from nominations that are received. This week, The Daily Herald selected Provo City School District and focused on teacher Ty Smith and student Amelia. Ty Smith is a math teacher at […]]]> No Changes to School Schedules 2/20/18 https://provo.edu/news/no-changes-to-school-schedules-2-20-18/ Tue, 20 Feb 2018 12:34:57 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10280 Beginning early this morning,  Provo City School District began following the procedures set forth in the Inclement Weather policy.  At this point, there will be no changes to school start times or bus routes.  This decisions was made after coordinating with district plow drivers, city officials and district transportation employees. This is subject to change […]]]> Thanksgiving Point Visits Centennial https://provo.edu/news/thanksgiving-point-visits-centennial/ Thu, 15 Feb 2018 19:16:56 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10223 This past Tuesday and Wednesday, Centennial Middle School classes hosted educators from Thanksgiving Point as part of Thanksgiving Point‘s Curiosity in the Classroom initiative. This immersive STEM learning experience helps the students learn real world applications to what they are learning in the classroom. In this case, students were able to participate in hands-on learning […]]]> A Different Kind of Valentine https://provo.edu/news/a-different-kind-of-valentine/ Wed, 14 Feb 2018 19:39:06 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10213 Provost sixth graders are not giving Valentines Day cards to each other this year. Instead, they are showing their love in a different way. Mr. Sprunger’s and Mrs. Cobia’s students made blankets in class for Valentines Day. These blankets will be given to patients in Primary Children’s Hospital. There are many forms of love, but […]]]> Timpview Students Featured at Press Conference https://provo.edu/news/timpview-students-featured-at-press-conference/ Tue, 13 Feb 2018 18:20:32 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10195 Last week, a few Timpview students, who were representing Utah’s most outstanding students from the 9th Grade French and Chinese Dual Immersion Programs, were invited to a special press conference hosted by World Trade Center Utah. The press conference featured keynote speaker Senator Howard Stephenson and was hosted at the Utah State Capitol building. The […]]]> Wasatch Students are Going for the Gold https://provo.edu/news/wasatch-students-are-going-for-the-gold/ Mon, 12 Feb 2018 18:31:45 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10181 The Olympics aren’t just happening in PyeongChang, South Korea. They are happening in Mrs. Whatcott’s fourth grade classroom as well. Christine Whatcott decided to take advantage of the excitement of the Olympics to help motivate and challenge her students this month. She started off the month’s activities by having the students participate in their own […]]]> District App Survey https://provo.edu/news/district-app-survey/ Fri, 09 Feb 2018 22:15:06 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10165 About 18 months ago, our district released an app for Android and Apple iOS. The new District website was released a few months after the app and has been extremely successful, especially on mobile devices. If you have downloaded our app to your device, we would love to receive your feedback. We’ve set up a […]]]> Timpview High Will be America’s Most Spirited School With Your Help https://provo.edu/news/timpview-high-will-be-americas-most-spirited-school-with-your-help/ Fri, 09 Feb 2018 19:03:00 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10161 Have you heard? Timpview High School has been voted into the nation’s Top 5 for America’s Most Spirited High School. Varsity Brands, the company hosting the competition, “empowers young people by encouraging participation.” That is why school spirit is so important to them. The school that is voted as America’s Most Spirited High School will […]]]> Third Graders Mimic Kandisky Art https://provo.edu/news/third-graders-mimic-kandisky-art/ Fri, 09 Feb 2018 18:07:19 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10152 Today, Maren Clayton’s third grade class at Spring Creek Elementary School imitated Wassily Kandisky for STEAM Friday. Wassily Kandisky is a Russian artist who is said to have created some of the first abstract art pieces. Kandisky began his art career at age 30, so it is never too late to start something new! Clayton […]]]> Lance Conrad Visits Timpanogos Elementary https://provo.edu/news/lance-conrad-visits-timpanogos-elementary/ Thu, 08 Feb 2018 17:28:40 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10002 Timpanogos sixth graders were very excited to welcome popular young adult author, Lance Conrad, into their school last week. During his visit to Timpanogos, Conrad talked about his books and also stressed the importance of reading and writing. He explained that a person’s writing will never be perfect the first time– it takes a lot […]]]> Issue with Lunch Balance Robocalls https://provo.edu/news/issue-with-lunch-balance-robocalls/ Tue, 06 Feb 2018 20:56:31 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10114 We have been made aware that scheduled robocalls for lunch balances have not gone out to parents recently. A software issue was found to have caused the problem. We have instituted a fix for this issue. However, if you feel that you are not receiving your scheduled robocalls when you should be, please contact your […]]]> Fox 13 Goes Live at Provo High https://provo.edu/news/fox-13-goes-live-at-provo-high/ Tue, 06 Feb 2018 18:05:24 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10065 School spirit chants and cheers rang through the Provo High halls today as cameras rolled for Fox 13 Good Day Utah’s “Cool School of the Week” segment. As “Cool School of the Week”, the selected school can be awarded a cash prize up to $500 and have the opportunity for “Big Buddha” to visit their […]]]> New Principals Named at Lakeview and Rock Canyon https://provo.edu/news/new-principals-named-at-lakeview-and-rock-canyon/ Mon, 05 Feb 2018 23:00:06 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10036 With the upcoming retirements of Drew Daniels at Lakeview and Dean Nielsen at Rock Canyon, two new principals have been named.  Mike Barker has been named principal at Lakeview and Seth Hansen has been named principal at Rock Canyon.  Both of these positions take effect on July 1. Mike Barker began his career teaching science […]]]> Dixon Students Raise Money for Cancer https://provo.edu/news/dixon-students-raise-money-for-cancer/ Mon, 05 Feb 2018 18:54:39 +0000 https://provo.edu/?p=10018 Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 video. Here is a link to the video instead. You’ve heard of the “Five for Fight” movement the Utah Jazz is putting on? Well, our very own Technological Student Association at Dixon Middle School joined in the Utah Jazz movement. However, Dixon’s spin off called it, “Donations for the Cancer […]]]>